resume examples
zenergy47
Posted 2005-11-28 7:27 PM (#37685)
Subject: resume examples

Hi I am looking to get a job at a yoga studio, i am also in the middle of my yoga certification. does anyone have an example of what there yoga resume looked like when they got started?
Top of the page Bottom of the page

Posted 2005-11-29 9:19 AM (#37745 - in reply to #37685)
Subject: RE: resume examples

my yoga resume has these categories:

Qualifications
Yoga Education
Buddhist Education
Education
Workshops
Media/Publications
Employment

I assume yours should have the following:

Qualifications
Yoga Education
Education
Employment/Service

Under qualifications, i put things such as how long i'd practiced yoga and which styles, professional organizations related to yoga to which i belong (YA and IAYT), how long i've been teaching yoga and practicing other forms of body work.

Under Yoga education, i put where i studied, with whom and for how long. i have many, but you can put information about your training program here--including when you're going to complete your training. the buddhist education section is much the same.

under education, i put my traditional western education--where i got my bachlor's degree and my JD.

If you havent' been employed as a yoga teacher yet, i highly recommend that you teach as a volunteer for a bit to support your resume and your process. Connect with friends who may have a rec room or with a church or community center. offer to teach for a minimal fee (like $3 or $5 per class) for a set course of 6 or 8 weeks. offer to run a couple of sessions. just poke around to see what sorts of opportunities are out there for volunteering your time as a yoga teacher. Be mindful of specialized populations--make sure that your education and ability is there to meet their specialized needs.

Let me know if you have any other questions or need help brainstorming. I"ll be happy to help!
zenergy47
Posted 2005-11-29 11:42 AM (#37768 - in reply to #37745)