Yoga/Yogi=Satan?!
Moonmoma
Posted 2006-01-11 6:14 PM (#40757)
Subject: Yoga/Yogi=Satan?!

I am on a private, closed list of Catholics and somone was chatting about weight loss for Yoga, the video and how great it is. at least 3 of us have it as it was cheap on one spirit a while back. I think its a good beginner tape.

Anyway, someone said, Oh, dont do yoga, the word yogi is a god in that practice and he is satan. Whoa! Now i studied religions in anthropology grad school a while back and dont like this kind of talk.

So what do you think? I am not a very good student of yoga, but i bet this is false, isn't it?

Please direct me to some links that might tactfully address this. I dont want to get into a shouting match with these folks and unsub the list, but this seems narrow minded nad ignorant.

Moonmoma
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Cyndi
Posted 2006-01-11 7:15 PM (#40758 - in reply to #40757)
Subject: RE: Yoga/Yogi=Satan?!

Expert Yogi

Moonmama,

What do you think, in your heart???

If you want to learn about yoga philosophies, go back and do a search on this forum and read some of our discussions about Christians practicing Yoga and the other topics we have discussed related to Christianity and Yoga.

Besides, you answered your own question when you said you didn't like this kind of talk. If that is true and you really don't like it, you shouldn't waste your time hanging around those kinds of people and that kind of talk...probably best to unsub...you will never be able to win an argument with these kinds of people and its not worth trying.

Anyway, the yoga practice is a very personal one. If you are going to practice yoga and practice it correctly, then you will have to rely on your own mind, not someone else's. Practicing Yoga for weight loss from a video is like going on a binge diet. But, if you are fortunate, your practice may end up being a stepping stone for you, possibly leading you into something greater later on. Best wishes and good luck to you.