Savasana in home practice
lilybart
Posted 2007-12-14 10:47 AM (#100774)
Subject: Savasana in home practice

Hello everyone,
I'm glad to have found this forum. I have been practicing Vinyasa yoga for four months now and know that yoga is something I would like to practice for the rest of my life. I have really fallen in love with it. I dealt with anorexia as a college student about 7 years ago and wish that I had discovered yoga earlier for the purposes of recovery and self-awareness. It has taken many years to shake off the bits and pieces of the anorexic mindset, even after I reached a normal weight and my eating improved.
My question is about savasana, and although the background on the history of my eating disorder may seem irrelevant, I think it might be linked. I attend a yoga class once (occasionally twice) a week, and then practice at home with DVDs or on my own about 3 or 4 times a week. When I'm at the yoga studio, about 75% of the time I can "let go" enough to really relax into savasana. At home, in my smallish apartment (which I share with my boyfriend/partner), I almost never achieve relaxation in savasana. In fact, I have stopped adding it to my practice.
Now, if yoga has taught me anything so far... it's that the things that seem most challenging for me are the things that I need to examine and try. (Another insight into my personality: inversions are fun for me, while forward bends have proved much more challenging). I feel like I still need to slow down into the yoga, let go of some of the control. I love, love, love my class and studio, but it is very important to me to have a home practice that I can return to, and I would like to include savasana in my personal practice.
Any suggestions? It is also quite cold in my house and I have to practice in a room which my (wonderful) boyfriend walks through from time to time, so I always feel the possibility of interruption. Anyone else have this problem or any insights? I look forward to hearing back.