YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

New to Bikram Yoga
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Bikram YogaMessage format

candishhh
Posted 2006-10-04 3:27 AM (#66167)
Subject: New to Bikram Yoga

Hello everyone!

I am fairly new - actually I will just start my Bikram Yoga Manila classes next Tuesday. I your need some help since this is my first time..

1) What do I need to wear?
2) Will I see results immediately? If not - how long till I see them?
3) Will I really lose weight?
4) Is it really a form of meditation?
5) What is the difference of Bikram to the ordinary yoga?

Thanks a bunch!!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
jules
Posted 2006-10-04 10:58 AM (#66217 - in reply to #66167)
Subject: RE: New to Bikram Yoga

Hi!

I'm also fairly new to yoga - I took my first Bikram class about a month and a half ago and am totally in love. I started my practice to gain some flexibility, strength, and also to try to lose weight. Since it seems like we have similar goals, I thought I could give some advice from one beginner to another.

Wear as little as you can while still feeling comfortable. When I started i weighed 205 pounds, mostly carried in my butt and thighs, but also lots of rolls here and there. But it's so not worth it to try and cover up - you just become self-conscious of how hot you are, how uncomfortable your clothes are, etc. I wear a tank with a shelf bra and short shorts, both from a canadian company called lululemon which specializes in yoga clothes and gear.