YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Seated poses question
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Ashtanga YogaMessage format

LittleBear
Posted 2009-11-19 9:01 AM (#119517)
Subject: Seated poses question

I am still fairly new to Ashtanga and learning the primary series now. I have a question that may sound ridiculous but it seriously stumps me. When I am in seated positions the teacher instructs us to put our palms on the ground by our hips and push our hips and torso up. We are in the beginning steps of learning how to swing back from seated into I think plank. Anyway my problem is this - my hands don't reach the ground beside me. I can get just my fingertips to the ground, otherwise I need to move my hands forward and fold over a little to completely palm it. I can't seem to figure out the righ placement for my hands while keeping my back and torso straight. I don't know if I am just horribly disfigured and was born with hobbit arms, or if I am missing something in the posture that would help me. Any ideas or thoughts are welcome.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Seeker101
Posted 2009-11-19 9:16 AM (#119518 - in reply to #119517)
Subject: Re: Seated poses question

Veteran

Hi LittleBear.....no, you are not horribly disfigured!