YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

strained muscle
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Bikram YogaMessage format

Virginia Bikram
Posted 2004-04-09 4:49 PM (#5266)
Subject: strained muscle

I've been practicing yoga for about 4 years...mainly Ashtanga and Hatha and most recently Bikram - 2-4 times a week for the last 2 1/2 months. I believe I must have strained a muscle just above my knee. Feels more like a muscle than a tendon issue. It doesn't hurt at all when I walk but only when I kneel or go up and down stairs. The pain is right on top of my kneecap and slightly above it.

So, I have been resting for the last 3 days. Still hurts. Just mild pain, nothing excrutiating. I'm getting antsy to get back to practice, but my mind tells me I know I should continue to rest until the pain goes away. I assume I should, right?

Anyone have any ideas - should I also be icing it and/or doing any kind of gentle stretches or exercises? I know its hard to diagnose an issue over email, but just thought I'd toss it out there. It doesn't feel serious enough to have a Dr. check it out, however if the pain lasts for a week I will.

Appreciate any thoughts!
Top of the page Bottom of the page

Posted 2004-04-09 5:26 PM (#5269 - in reply to #5266)
Subject: RE: strained muscle