YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Weight Gain and Menopause
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Yoga for Weight LossMessage format

TheDailyFresser
Posted 2007-03-15 1:18 PM (#80132)
Subject: Weight Gain and Menopause

Hi all,
Although I first practiced yoga in the 1980s (one of my best friends was a personal disciple of Swami Satchidananda), I have been yoga-free until very recently. While I'm a full time food writer, I don't actually eat very much (unless I'm reviewing, and that's just once a week and I take a lot of people with me), but my line of work has run headlong into the facts that I sit all day, and am in premature menopsause (I'm 43) resulting in a weight gain of nearly 20 pounds since 2000. I'm five foot one, and now, suddenly, weight 155 pounds. Shocking. My face is puffy, I feel like I'm toting around a sack of potatoes, and I just don't feel or look good anymore. Oh, and I'm also on blood pressure and cholesterol medication.

A few weeks back, I decided to put my gym membership on hold and instead take a few yoga classes in my neighborhood. I was AMAZED at how great I felt, how clear it became to me that my body was very much out of alignment. And then I remembered a piece written by chef/author Rick Bayless, about how his life was changed by yoga; his weight and mindset shifted completely.