YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Balance
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Bikram YogaMessage format

musie
Posted 2008-04-28 10:04 AM (#106738)
Subject: Balance

So, I'm pretty new to Bikram, having started practicing about 3 weeks ago. I'm loving it, but one of my constant problems is my complete and utter lack of ability to balance in the standing positions. I know it'll come with time, but do any of you have any tricks for focusing attention, etc that might help?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jar
Posted 2008-04-28 10:16 AM (#106739 - in reply to #106738)
Subject: RE: Balance

Regular

I have no answers for gaining balance. Like you, I'm about 3 weeks into bikram yoga after no yoga ever, and balance is my nemesis Well balance and triangle

Posted 2008-04-28 10:40 AM (#106742 - in reply to #106738)

The trick to balance I've found in my own practice and teaching is unflinching focus--pick a spot for that drishti and do not waiver.
Jar
Posted 2008-04-28 9:08 PM (#106744 - in reply to #106738)

Regular

Bruce
I do believe your correct, it seems more mind than learned practice or strength. I do notice there are times i have my balance correct, and the instructor walking around the room distracts me, or blocks my current eyeball aiming point and I lose it.

Posted 2008-04-28 9:23 PM (#106745 - in reply to #106738)