YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Why can we go every day?
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 2 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Bikram YogaMessage format

Posted 2008-05-11 4:33 PM (#107258 - in reply to #107014)
Subject: RE: Why can we go every day?

Wow, what a super educated discussion!! Awesome!

I am not an expert at ALL, but if anyone is making a reading list from this topic, I have another recommendation: "The Thinking Body" by Mabel Todd. (i think I got mine off Amazon.) Here's from the back cover: "The Thinking Body, originally published in 1937, is a classic in the study of human physiology, and the effect of psychological and mental processes on human movement.... The purpose of the book is to re-educate us in our movements, to bring the power of mental and psychological processes to bear on all our physical movements." I read it as a dance student but I think that yogis would really like it, too. It's a really cool read and it covers the skeletal system, posture, breathing, some scientific mind-body stuff... I definitely get a couple of "light-bulb" moments every time I read it.

To Danielle's original question, why can we go every day? I thought the answer was "Because we are just total rock stars like that!!" But that might not be scientific enough for your hubby. Seriously though, the yoga DOES just seem to work. It is so restorative. Even when I am sore from yoga, the best cure always seems to be MORE YOGA! Hah.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Andre