YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

First Bikram Yoga Class.
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Bikram YogaMessage format

MrD
Posted 2004-12-28 7:22 PM (#14083)
Subject: First Bikram Yoga Class.

I've been practicing yoga for 2 years. mainly power yoga, with a little gentle and restorative yoga for diversion. My daughter came into town. She had been doing some type of Sauna therapy where you heat up from aerobics, then get into the sauna for about 45 minutes to detox.

So I tried the hot yoga because she was interested.

We had a choice of 2 sites in the area. I picked the southern one because it was newer, because I've heard others complain about the "smell" from the older Northern Studio, and of course because it was closer.

We got to the studio just in time. They had us sign a release and whisked us into the studio because the class was starting. Here are my impressions:

1. DAAANG, that place was hot, I've had saunas that were about that temperature, and I was supposed to exercise in that heat!!! I usually do yoga in long pants, but since I wear shorts underneath anyway, I was able to take them off immediately. They put us in a line, and didn't stagger the yoga mats. Glad I wasn't doing a series of sun salutations. We would have bumped.

2. I had the foresight to bring a bottle of water, a large towel, and a small one. I didn't have the foresight to bring 2 (needed for the shower).