YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

new and want to teach...
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Yoga TeachersMessage format

ckatgo
Posted 2006-01-07 5:43 PM (#40413)
Subject: new and want to teach...

I am kind of new to yoga, I was practicing for several years on my own, (I live in an area where good teachers are few and far between) and I am wanting to start my practice back up and in a year or so look into teacher training and I was wondering if any yoga teachers are on this board and if they could give me their opinion on the state of teaching yoga today? How did you get into teaching? and is there any "pit falls" and drawbacks, so to speak, that I should be aware of???

Thanks!!!!
Top of the page Bottom of the page

Posted 2006-01-09 1:11 PM (#40517 - in reply to #40413)
Subject: RE: new and want to teach...

i think it might be easier if you clarified a few things for us:

why do you want to teach?

what do you think of teaching yoga? what do you think the industry is like?

what are your expectations or thoughts on what a yoga teachers 'life' looks like or is like?

and then, we can talk about it.
kulkarnn
Posted 2006-01-09 2:55 PM (#40524 - in reply to #40413)

ckatgo: Thoughts for your thinking:

1. You wrote you are new and at the same time you have practiced for several years. Contradiction!

2. Do NOT depend only on Yoga Teaching for your entire living income.