YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Miserable baptiste experience today.
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Bikram YogaMessage format

LollerBrader
Posted 2011-02-01 11:07 PM (#202448)
Subject: Miserable baptiste experience today.

New User

Checked out a "Hot Yoga" school in my neighborhood today. I was a little under the weather, but didn't think it'd be a big deal... I've been doing Ashtanga off and on for about 10 years now, and consistently for the last year.

My old Ashtanga school used to close the windows on a hot summer day and jokingly say it was a "hot yoga" class.

Today's experience was nothing like that...first thing I noticed was that the students were packed into a small room like sardines. Mats were arranged like a checkerboard, with little room between them.

The heat was oppressive. It was muggy. There was no ventilation I could see. I can't imagine there was even enough oxygen in the room for us all. As far as I could tell, no one else in the room seemed to be bothered by this.

Breathing was like trying to breath pea soup. Eventually I got dizzy, and kept having to go to ground. Not being able to work past it, I went to leave. The instructor made a scene of it, telling me that I needed to stay and show perseverance, even if it meant just sitting. I felt her insistence imposing and very un-yoga.