YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

foot cramping during pilates
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Fitness -> PilatesMessage format

Posted 2004-03-24 6:16 PM (#4811)
Subject: foot cramping during pilates

I am a Pilates Instructor and recently, some of the middle-aged women in my class have complained of foot cramping during certain exercises. I've told them to try flexing their feet as opposed to pointing them, to massage their feet during warm-up, and to stop the exercise at any sign of discomfort. I have heard cramping can be a sign of potassium-deficiency, so I also recommended eating a banana before class. Does anyone know exactly what causes cramping and how I can better guide them? Thank you.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jacka
Posted 2004-05-14 2:24 PM (#6391 - in reply to #4811)
Subject: RE: foot cramping during pilates

I too am a Pilates instructor and I have recently had many women complain of foot cramping. I too heard of Potassium deficiency as a reason for cramps??
I would love to hear a good response to your question.
I have merely instructed them, not to point the toes " so hard". " take the work out of the foot, and focus on intiating movement from you center". Also, I encourage flexing the foot, and " if it hurts, don't do it"
kulkarnn
Posted 2004-05-14 4:22 PM (#6397 - in reply to #4811)