YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

si problems
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Ashtanga YogaMessage format

renee
Posted 2004-10-05 10:35 AM (#10513)
Subject: si problems

I have been practicing astanga for 5 years, the primary series. Usually 5 days a week. I have been experiencing pain in my sacro illiac joint and my lower right side, my Q L area. Does anyone have suggestions or has anyone experienced this before. When I go to my chiropracter he usually puts it back in. Last week it was really bad and I couldn't even bend forward. I haven't been able to do my practice for 3 months because it makes it worse. Any ideas? I have just been walking for exercise but I really miss my daily practice and I want to get back to it.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
YogaDancer
Posted 2004-10-05 11:02 AM (#10516 - in reply to #10513)
Subject: RE: si problems

This is a pretty common injury, particularly in yoga. Unfortunately, once an SI is unstable, it pretty much remains a danger area ...

... unless ...

1) you learn to strengthen the muscles across the lower back and into the hip and
2) you learn how to "hug in" the muscles on the sides of the hips.

1) One of the best methods is to sit in Janu Sirsasana. Pull your bottom out from underneath you and roll the muscles of the thigh in and down. This is known in other traditions as an inner spiral or rotation. You'll feel yourself sitting more firmly on your butt bones.