YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

handstand question
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> General YogaMessage format

flipcat
Posted 2004-12-10 10:53 AM (#13471)
Subject: handstand question

Just wondering if anyone has some good tips on working into handstand. I am a beginner at this and really want to incorporate a lot of handstand into my practice since headstand is out of the question. Currently, I am posting my hands (in line with shoulders) on a slip free surface (found that to be most important) and just kicking up against a wall. This works great for now while it is all new but I suspect there is a better, more technically correct (read difficult ;-D) method to get up there. Thanks!

Amy
Top of the page Bottom of the page
YogaGuy
Posted 2004-12-10 11:44 AM (#13473 - in reply to #13471)
Subject: RE: handstand question

Amy

Let's break it down. Starting with the hands, keep them shoulder width apart. Spread the fingers wide and grip the floor a little. Push down with the hands strongly like you are trying to push the floor away. Keep your arms straight.

The heart should be open and the shoulder blades should slide down the back. Draw the navel into your spine activating uddiyana bandha. The lower ribs should be drawn in so you aren't bending in the lower back which causes a bowing/banana effect when upside down.