YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

New to Iyengar Yoga
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> General YogaMessage format

jkherron
Posted 2005-01-18 5:51 PM (#15082)
Subject: New to Iyengar Yoga

I am new to Iyengar yoga, having begun classes in North West London. I only attend about 1 class a week because it takes my body about 3 days to recover from a 1 and 1/2 hour class. After the class I am ravenous and almost shaking and usually need a huge sleep. Is this normal? I am super fit so am quite surprised at how deceptively hard yoga is! I am seriously considering attending an Iyengar yoga retreat in India in summer if there is such a thing. Does anyone have any tips or suggestions?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
afroyogi
Posted 2005-01-18 7:00 PM (#15085 - in reply to #15082)
Subject: RE: New to Iyengar Yoga

Welcome Jessica. Iyengar is a great way to go as a beginner. What you are experiencing I find quite strange. I'm not super fit but a stiff overweight old geyser and hardly break a sweat during practice. And, quite frankly, I never had any sore muscles or other pains after class. Sometimes on my way home I can not drive very well cause I'm too relaxed.