YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

New poster - Yoga for Strength
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Hatha YogaMessage format

audreyh1
Posted 2005-01-20 7:50 PM (#15213)
Subject: New poster - Yoga for Strength

Hi everyone!

I have been practicing Hatha Yoga for about 2 years now. For the first 1.5 years I attended a class. Over the past 6 months I have been really interested in developing a personal practice and have been doing the yoga at home. I'm starting to make some real progress with this. I'm now doing yoga 5 to 6 days a week and experimenting with different kinds of routines depending on what other physical exercise I did that day.

During the past 1.5 years I have also been doing twice a week strength training. Of course this helped my yoga tremendously as I gained the strength to do things like very slow Chaturangas and one-armed plank, etc. Yoga was also a good restorative for the strength training.

Now I am coming to believe that I should be able to use yoga to maintain and even to continue to build my muscles without needing the gym training or free weights. In a few months we will be traveling on a permanent basis, and I won't have access to my personal trainer or the gym anymore. I'm now thinking of relying on yoga to fulfill the strength training need.