YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Opinions please
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> General YogaMessage format

Gruvemom
Posted 2005-03-02 4:03 PM (#18101)
Subject: Opinions please

Ok, here's my quandry.... I have weight/ food/ body image issues - don't we all... Since I started practicing regularly (anywhere from 2-5 times per week - usually 3) in Oct. of '03, I have lost 4 clothing sizes. Great, but not something I really ever discuss beyond "I've lost 4 sizes in a year, doing yoga". I really don't want this issue associated w/ me by my fellow yogi/nis. (IOW, I don't want to be the "go to girl" on using yoga to loose weight, that's not what yoga has ever been for me).

I have been studying w/ my hatha teacher for 2 years, so she has witnessed the "transformation" in addition, we have had the chance to discuss some of our weight/body/ life issues, so she's familiar w/ my situation.

It seems my teacher has become an associate w/ a "Mary Kay" type of natural products company that has cosmetics, dietary supplements, etc. At the last class, she handed me some info on their weight loss program. Perhaps I haven't been as clear as I thought I had been, but offering me weightloss info is like giving crack to Courtney Love. In addition, my "crazy mind" sees it as my teacher saying: "you haven't lost enough weight, you are not thin enough yet, you're just not quite good enough, you still have room for improvement".