YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Halasana
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Hatha YogaMessage format

Graham
Posted 2006-01-13 12:53 PM (#40907)
Subject: Halasana

Hi,
I've been practicing yoga for nearly five years and find that I can get into most of the asanas quite well (for a fifty three year old that is)with one exception.
It doesn't matter how much I try to do Halasana the Plough I just can't touch the floor with my feet. As well as the choking feeling which I know you're supposed to get,I feel really uncomfortable,and cringe when my teacher says we're to do it.
Does anyone have any suggestions to maybe help me to improve in some way?

Namaste.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
laurajhawk
Posted 2006-01-13 1:16 PM (#40908 - in reply to #40907)
Subject: RE: Halasana

I'm not an expert or a teacher, but wow, choking and cringing are just not conducive to yogic progress IMHO. I would suggest doing the pose with a prop (even though I'm not a big "prop person"): rest your feet on a chair (at home) or on a block or stack of blocks (in class); use whatever it takes so that the pose *is* comfortable. If you can find a modification that works for you, then (a) you will receive benefits of the pose and (b) you may be able to gradually reduce/remove the modifications.