YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

'Rolling back' - please advise
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Fitness -> PilatesMessage format

feverfox
Posted 2006-01-26 4:27 AM (#41938)
Subject: 'Rolling back' - please advise

Hi
I am new to pilates and new to the forum, so hi to all.

I am a fairly fit guy (40) who has taken up pilates, to improve my flexibility and core strength. I am enjoying it very much, but I cannot get to grips with 'rolling back' (the forerunner to 'the seal') I believe. I have tried the alternatives but do not have the flexibilty in my lower back or the strength to raise myself up smoothly.

I have particular difficulty if I try to do this deliberately slow, as I believe thats the way it should be done.

Can anybody advise me on this?

Yours

Lyndon
Top of the page Bottom of the page
jeansyoga
Posted 2006-01-26 8:27 AM (#41942 - in reply to #41938)
Subject: RE: 'Rolling back' - please advise

I'm not sure whether you're referring to the "rollup" (a smooth sit-up where you roll your spine up off the floor and slowly back down) or "rolling like a ball" which is more similar to "the seal." Since you mention going slowly, I'm assuming you're referring to the rollup, so I'll go from there (if not, please post again and I'll see what I can do to help).

First of all, ALL new students have a problem doing rollups/rolldowns smoothly, so congratulations - that means you're doing it right!