YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

aching hands; sore wrists
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Fitness -> Injuries and rehabMessage format

grundig7
Posted 2006-07-03 3:29 PM (#57507)
Subject: aching hands; sore wrists

I've been doing yoga for nearly four years now, and have been fortunate enough not to have suffered any serious injuries during that time. Recently, however, I have been experiencing very sore wrists and some sharp pain in my hands.

My practice involves many inversions, including handstands, scorpions, as well as jumping into many arm balances, such as crow, one-legged crow, etc. I spend some 30% of my asana practice just on my hands and wrists.

Is it possible that I've done some permanent damage to my hands and wrists? I've taken some days off to see if the pain and soreness subsides, but to no avail. I'm so worried now that I'll have to dramatically change the way I practice yoga in order to continue practicing at all. Someone has suggested to me using fist when doing plank and up dog, doing dolphin instead of down-dogs, and giving up all inversions and arm balances that put pressure directly on my hands and wrists, at least until they heal.

Any advice?

Edited by grundig7 2006-07-03 3:31 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
tourist
Posted 2006-07-03 6:52 PM (#57524 - in reply to #57507)
Subject: RE: aching hands; sore wrists

Expert Yogi