YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Newbie question
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Fitness -> Injuries and rehabMessage format

Mountain Girl
Posted 2007-02-12 7:40 PM (#77296)
Subject: Newbie question

I am fairly new to yoga, though not to exercise. Alomst ten years ago, I fratured and partially dislocated my shoulder. The fracture healed wrong, and I deal daily with pain and stiffness in my shoulder. I work carefully to develop my strength equally - I am a professional athlete, so that's a must. Any ideas on gentle strenthening exercises to relieve some of the pain and help develop a better range of motion?
Thanks!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Nick
Posted 2007-02-13 3:08 AM (#77336 - in reply to #77296)
Subject: RE: Newbie question

Hi Jess,
What kind of athlete are you? Just so I can see if your sport is placing heavy demands on your shoulder.
Let me think about your question, will get back to you if I think of something useful-can I ask you where the fracture was? And also, the exact circumstances which caused it (gives me a better idea of the injury site). Have you not had much success with rehabilitiation on the shoulder? Just wondered if you were trying to use yoga because rehab has failed, or is it simply that you do not have access to good rehab facilities?

Nick
Mountain Girl
Posted 2007-02-13 5:57 PM (#77422 - in reply to #77296)