YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

can't do fitness anymore
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Fitness -> General FitnessMessage format

OrangeMat
Posted 2007-02-26 11:38 AM (#78752)
Subject: can't do fitness anymore

Seems as if yoga has ruined my taste for fitness classes, and I'm really not happy about that. Especially since my profession is still technically fitness (I'm a personal trainer and I teach a couple classes a week). I think I'm more surprised than anything else. I was at a resort last week and so I decided to take a fitness class that was offered on the hotel's schedule. I had taken the yoga class offered there the day before, and that was pleasant enough... But I couldn't believe how much I disliked the fitness class. It was called Body & Core Conditioning, or something like that, and billed as a functional fitness class (as opposed to a bootcamp style, or at least I had hoped). I still enjoy running, so it's not that I don't want to get a good sweat. And the way I teach my classes and clients does involve the entire body as a whole (which we do work hard), so again, it's not like I've gotten lax in my own workouts. But this class, I don't know, I just couldn't figure out what was the BENEFIT of any of the exercises the instructor had us do, body parts in isolation like bicep curls and pushups, WHY? Anyone else notice their taste for fitness classes has dwindled since beginning a regular practice of yoga? I think what bugs me the most is that I didn't like something, that I expe