YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Need an opinion
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Ashtanga YogaMessage format

Miabella704
Posted 2007-04-13 5:15 PM (#83298)
Subject: Need an opinion

When I started practicing yoga in '97 I began with the Total Yoga series. There were no classes near me in Ohio and NO ONE I knew practiced yoga. As I moved into Ashtanga practice I took classes and used the Short Forms video.
I have a friend with very little yoga experience. She would like to try ashtanga at home. Should I recommend the Short Forms dvd or, what I personally think is a good idea, the First Series starting with surya namaskarya and not progressing until that is learned then taking one posture at a time?
I'm kind of curious how others feel about this.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Betsy
Posted 2007-04-14 9:44 AM (#83342 - in reply to #83298)
Subject: RE: Need an opinion

I have David's Short Forms and think it's wonderful. The method you're suggesting--starting with Surya Namaskara A and mastering that, then going on to B, etc.--is the way Ashtanga is traditionally taught. In fact, the first of David's Short Forms is pretty much nothing more than Surya Namaskara A and B, and one or two closing postures. That might be a good place for your friend to begin.