YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

deaf student
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Yoga TeachersMessage format

lovelylotus
Posted 2007-07-16 10:40 AM (#91527)
Subject: deaf student

this is a long one....

I feel absolutly terrible.. and it really made me feel like i was a not a good teacher... let me explain..
i had a deaf student in class the other morning.. this was my second time ever teaching with a deaf student attending. the first time was fine.. this time much different experience.. the start of class the student came up to me and said that she was deaf and that she can read lips and that she would prefer that I keep the curtains open (they open to mirrors) i said no problem.. they were 4 other students in class.. so i began as normal and i do more walking around and adjusting then demonstrating but since she was there i was demo'ing a little.... need to be attentative to the other students.. well i continued and half way through she stopped and was like - i cant hear you i am deaf please show all the poses... so i did.. and then about when we were lying down for svasana - she got up and left - and didnt look back to say thank you or anything...