YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Which Yoga is right for me?
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> General YogaMessage format

Vados Dia
Posted 2007-08-22 3:42 PM (#94775)
Subject: Which Yoga is right for me?

Hello everyone!
I'm a total novice when it comes to Yoga, but what little I've seen of it has grabbed my interest. In fact, I'm looking into taking some classes in the near future. I live in the suburbs of Montréal, and therefore have access to a wide variety of different Yoga styles. However, I know very little about the various forms and their particularities. I was hoping some of you fine folks could help steer me towards a class that would best suit my preferences.

Said preferences go as follows : I would like to study the style of Yoga that puts the most emphasis on advanced stretching (gradually, of course!), balance and strenght. In other words, I would prefer a more hardcore and physical style that would eventually allow me to bend into a pretzel (I'm used to hard workouts and stretching thanks to a few years of martial arts, and I'd like to find something along those lines in my Yoga).

I would also prefer classes that don't put too much (or any) focus on the ''spiritual'' side, if possible (I mean no offense to anyone here, it's just that I'm more of a materialist/skeptic type ). If that means going to a more modern/gym-like Yoga place, I don't mind.