YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Strange problem with Sarvangas
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> General YogaMessage format

Tim Sylvester
Posted 2007-09-19 10:03 PM (#96538)
Subject: Strange problem with Sarvangas

Hello all,

I've been practicing yoga on and off for about two years now. I'm young, fit, healthy, no dietary issues, medical issues, or preexisting conditions.

I've been following Iyengar's series from Light on Yoga, and currently I'm in a Kundalini yoga course also.

I have a very strange problem with Sarvangasana that I've not found reference to anywhere else.

After about 30 seconds of the shoulder stand, I can feel a "flow" from my thighs into my midsection. It's not uncomfortable, it's quite pleasant and relaxing actually.

Once the pose is completed and I relax down, the trouble begins.

Immediately after doing the shoulder stand, I loose all coordination, control, and grace from my gait. I become unsteady and stumbly, bumping into walls, having difficulty walking straight or maintaining a path, needing to brace myself to keep from stumbling or falling into things. My legs go Gumby and I'm basically flopping my way towards my destination.

Typically I bound up stairs two or three at a time, but after the asana, I have to go one at a time and hold the rail. All lower-body movement requires great concentration and focus to execute properly.