YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

opening yoga studio-realistic?
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Yoga TeachersMessage format

rara134
Posted 2008-01-22 4:27 PM (#102305)
Subject: opening yoga studio-realistic?

Is opening a yoga studio realistic. I have found many articles online about the subject, but nothing with real facts or information that proves that helpful. I guess there are a lot of variables.
I am a freelance yoga teacher and have been teaching about 15 classes weekly for 1 year now. I taught 2 classes weekly for 1 year before that prior to becoming certified (I don't condone or recommend teaching prior to becoming certified, but I am guilty of doing so, I didn't really know any better at the time, or know all of the things that I didn't know about yoga and teaching before becoming certified). I have been practicing yoga for 3 years, teaching for 2 and really teaching for 1 year. I have a B.A. in dance and I am only 22 years old (almost 23). I live in a midwestern metropolitan area, in a city of 600,000, the metro area is about a million. The city I live in is by no mean saturated with yoga studios and there isn’t a single one in the city that teaches the style I teach. I teach vinyasa style power yoga at a college university primarily, and at a few studios and health clubs in the city. I have taught 500 classes in the past yearh and seen about a total of 500 students (all of whom I have email addresses and contact info for) I have many returning students a very loyal cli