YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

HOW DO YOU PRACTICE?
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> General YogaMessage format

jmcdan3
Posted 2008-02-17 6:54 PM (#103632)
Subject: HOW DO YOU PRACTICE?

Hello all! Ive been doing Yoga for about two months now and I usually follow Rodney Yee's Power practice. I have been thinking about taking elements from Power yoga and other practices and incorporating them into my own 45 minute routine. I am very active as I am a 23 year old male. I like Power bc it is difficult but I dont think Im ready for the primary ashtanga series. What are some good poses to get ready for Ashtanga? Im looking for new poses to create a custom routine bc Rodney Yee's power is somewhat vague.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
ohmseven
Posted 2008-02-21 8:40 PM (#103879 - in reply to #103632)
Subject: RE: HOW DO YOU PRACTICE?

there are some good articles on this very website for starting your own practice. As for preparation for primary, perhaps just follow the sequence but leaveout theposes you can't do. (I am fairly new to home practice as well and have recentlystarted ashtanga "short forms")

Others who practice ashtanga: do you think its better just to attempt the primary sequence in class or practice at home with a modified series until i build more flxibility/endurance?
lewellen17
Posted 2008-02-21 9:40 PM (#103881 - in reply to #103632)
Subject: RE: HOW DO YOU PRACTICE?

I practise ashtanga, and am much more of a traditionalist about it now than I used to be.