YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

sick after tree pose?
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> General YogaMessage format

Athena28
Posted 2008-03-05 8:38 PM (#104445)
Subject: sick after tree pose?

Hi,
I'm a beginner and this may seem like a strange question...
A few weeks ago when we learned tree pose in my basics class the teacher talked about how when we push our heels against our thighs, beneath the groin - we are pressing on lymph nodes and releasing toxins.
That evening - after learning it, I came down with a bad cold/flu that lasted about a week.
Well, yesterday I was doing my practice at home - spent quite awhile in tree pose because I enjoy it so much... and lo and behold, I was hit with another strain of the flu last night.
Today I have a fever and my body is incredibly sore - especially in the area of those lymphs.
Could releasing those toxins be making me sick? Has anyone else ever heard of this?
Thanks,
Athena
Top of the page Bottom of the page

Posted 2008-03-05 8:47 PM (#104446 - in reply to #104445)
Subject: RE: sick after tree pose?

well, it could just be the clods/flus passing through your home/life. . .

but yes, it is normal when doing forms of energy work to "get sick" and then get better. for example, when you get acupuncture, it's common to feel sick for about 24-48 hours or so, and hten feel great.

since yoga is energy work, it is possible.

Posted 2008-03-05 9:16 PM (#104448 - in reply to #104445)