YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Ashtanga yoga injuries
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Ashtanga YogaMessage format

Eteraz
Posted 2008-04-18 4:01 PM (#106420)
Subject: Ashtanga yoga injuries

I have been practicing Ashtanga for a bit over two years (I practiced Iyengar and Anusara before). I love Ashtanga yoga but am constantly injuring my hamstring area and hamstring tendons. Last time I injured it, it took about a year to heal and then I very slowly started to go into the poses again and I got injured again. Am I doing something wrong? This is the only yoga I've ever gotten injured in constantly.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
hnia
Posted 2008-04-18 4:40 PM (#106422 - in reply to #106420)
Subject: RE: Ashtanga yoga injuries

Hey Eteraz,

Do you practice everyday? Moon days? In a heated room? With a teacher? Do you stop at a certain point? Do you only do primary?

FYI: You are probably going too deep too quickly. Try practicing at 60% for one week. Then try 65% for one week, 75%, 80% When you get to 80% don't go any deeper Do this forever and your 80% will change.

never practice at 100%

Posted 2008-04-18 4:43 PM (#106424 - in reply to #106420)

if the practice is causing you to be constantly injured, perhaps it is time for you to seriously question the efficacy of the practice
do you love ashtanga series more than you love the function of your hamstrings?
Eteraz
Posted 2008-04-18 4:48 PM (#106426 - in reply to #106420)