YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Beginner questions ashtanga yg
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Ashtanga YogaMessage format

Nicolai Barov
Posted 2008-09-01 4:37 PM (#110375)
Subject: Beginner questions ashtanga yg

Hello,

I am a beginner in yoga but i try to find the good way so i have a few questions wich i have trouble with. Maybe you can and are willing to help me out a bit.

I train the 5 times sun salutations part one and two then i go on with the standing series and after that the primary series wich i do half now (i am a beginner) i practise two/three times in a week besides this i train karate 3 times in a week.

My questions are:

In what room tempature should i practice ashtanga yoga?

Do i need to warm up the body for i begin?

How far should i strech the muscles in positions?
( after the practiseday i have little sore in my muscles especially the hamstrings, i go for it 100 procent streching)

Must i do the sequence as i described or can i skip the standing series? and go on with the primary series? I follow the book from David Swenson and when i practise it cost me 65-70 minutes is that ok?

Is there a ending manner when you are done?

I practise this yoga since a half year and i have lots of benefits in my daily life but also in karate training. But there are not any teachers where i live so i must find it out myself.
Thank you for talking time for reading and even maybe an answer (s)

greetings Nicolai Barov

Top of the page Bottom of the page
Nick