YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Introduction/Question
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Yoga TeachersMessage format

Honeybee
Posted 2009-03-15 10:36 PM (#114579)
Subject: Introduction/Question

Hello! I am new to this forum. I found it when looking for a resource to talk to to yoga teachers. I have been practicing yoga for about 8 years now, and have recently been asked to start teaching a class. I'd like to get some insight on my situation. Here's my story:

I am from a a very rural community. I've moved around some over the past several years and have been blessed to practice with amazing teachers in several big cities. About a year ago I moved back home. Our local YMCA (15 miles away) offers a few yoga classes that are OK, but honestly I think my own practice is beyond the teachers they have there. These are people who I would guess took a weekend workshop and got a piece of paper and added Yoga to their repertoire of aerobics and pilates classes. Very few classes are offered - like 1 or 2 a week, and these all during daytime hours. So I have sought out a teacher I like about 50 miles away and I'm practicing with her 2-3 times a month. In addition, I have a little "yoga club" which consists of my mom and cousin and occasionally others, that meets once a week at my house. I lead this group, but it's always been informal, and they certainly don't pay me to teach them. Then I also have my own (almost) daily practice which I do alone.