YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Yoga for Fever, Cold, Flu
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Wellness -> Yoga TherapyMessage format

tomoko
Posted 2009-04-09 12:30 PM (#115274)
Subject: Yoga for Fever, Cold, Flu

Hello,

I recently started practicing yoga (which I am very pleased with) and was just wondering whether anyone would recommend yoga when one has a cold, fever or flu? If so, what types/postures?

Thanks
Top of the page Bottom of the page

Posted 2009-04-09 1:25 PM (#115278 - in reply to #115274)
Subject: RE: Yoga for Fever, Cold, Flu

A very gentle, restorative practice can be helpful when ill as it can strengthen the immune system. A vigorous practice would be problematic. When you are sick, the best advice is the old "drink plenty of fluids and rest." If the yoga practice is restful, then it can be helpful. If it is active, it will only use up energy that is better spent getting well.

If you have a fever, stay in bed and drink plenty of water so you don't get dehydrated. Once the fever is gone, gentle stretching is fine.
Duffy Pratt
Posted 2009-04-09 3:18 PM (#115282 - in reply to #115278)
Subject: Re: Yoga for Fever, Cold, Flu