YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Can't get myself to go back...
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Bikram YogaMessage format

lifeisgood
Posted 2009-06-28 8:10 PM (#116730)
Subject: Can't get myself to go back...

I have this dilemma. I know that Bikram Yoga greatly improves my fitness, but I can't get myself to go back into the hot room.

MY STORY: I started practicing as an alternative to running, because I had shin splints. I immediately jumped into the practice and practiced 3-5 times a week, worry-free, simply enjoying doing the postures and breathing. About 5 months into my practice I embarked on a 30-day challenge. I was so enthusiastic and totally committed myself. 30 days turned into 60 days into 90 days and on and on... I was hooked. I practiced everyday, often twice a day. I completely overhauled my diet. Somewhere around month 9, I noticed that my body had changed. I had much less body fat and much more lean muscle. I loved it. I loved my body, I loved the practice.

Then it was suggested to me to enter the Bikram yoga competition. I didn't think I would be ready in time but I forced myself to enter anyways. From that point on, I told myself I needed to work harder than I ever have before, longer, stronger. Pain is only weakness leaving the body. I devoted my entire life to the practice. All I could think about is how I could improve.