YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

is there any proof of "detoxification" benefits from Bikram
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Bikram YogaMessage format

Alex33
Posted 2009-08-18 9:35 PM (#117783)
Subject: is there any proof of "detoxification" benefits from Bikram

Im only asking as I dont really know. Im very new to this, and I hear about the detox a lot, but I was wondering if there was any proof to it all?
I do feel better, (or I did) but yesterday my whole inflexible body just ached in a way it has never ached before. Ive decided to have a day or two rest and go again, maybe it is just too much when you are as bent up as I am .
Top of the page Bottom of the page
oshy
Posted 2009-08-19 12:01 AM (#117790 - in reply to #117783)
Subject: Re: is there any proof of "detoxification" benefits from Bikram

no - detox is a misnomer - the body eliminates waste products primarily through urine, feces and, arguably, lymph. sweat does include some amount of waste material but it is minor - detox is mostly a newage concept that is used to sell products, some of which are snake oil. this is not to say that one doesn't feel 'cleansed' after a bikram class. it's a very commonly stated effect.
Alex33
Posted 2009-08-19 12:38 AM (#117795 - in reply to #117783)

so really the heat is pointless, except to make you loosen up a bit????
jtho
Posted 2009-08-19 11:39 AM (#117811 - in reply to #117783)