YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

At What Age (and introduction)
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Yoga TeachersMessage format

grlonwindsurf
Posted 2010-01-29 3:26 PM (#121096)
Subject: At What Age (and introduction)

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here. I am thinking of enroling in a four-month long TT that starts in April. Maybe as you had when embarking on this journey, I have some doubts, questions, etc, so I thought that maybe I could get some feedback on my particular set of worries.

A little about me - I took my first yoga class in 1994, and yes it was on the VCR. Since that time, I carried a regular prenatal self-practice - on VCR... LOL -- when pregnant with my now 10-yr-old -- and taken a couple more DVD classes. More recently took a bunch of yoga classes at a big franchise gym, and finally found it in me to commit to a 4-6 days a week practice in Jimmy Barkan's main hot yoga studio here in FTL.

Prior to all of this, in the 80s, in Rio where I'm from, I used to regularly take these one-hour classes called "Elongation" classes (that's the literal translation of the class name), which in retrospect were routines that combined yoga poses that focus on stretching your body parts. I also have a classical ballet background and while in school taught fitness (ok, it was aerobics in the 90s, LOL) classes at Bally's.