YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Final savasana not "enforced"?
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Bikram YogaMessage format

IDoThings
Posted 2010-10-02 1:38 PM (#125323)
Subject: Final savasana not "enforced"?

Hello, everyone! I'm pretty new to Bikram and so far find it very challenging but also very rewarding. I have pretty severe scoliosis and disc problems, and my Rolfer recommended Bikram once a week as an adjunct to my Rolfing sessions. But I've upped it to twice a week and hope to get to 3X a week very soon. I can already see improvement (after YEARS of trying "everything else").

My question has to do with the final savasana. I did read the thread on how long people take, but my question has to do with whether or not your studio "makes" you stay for at least 2-5 minutes. Of course, I use words like "enforced" and "makes" sort of tongue in cheek.

After reading about how important the final savasana is, I was surprised that, seconds after the instructor said, "Namaste," I could hear the door opening and people leaving. They did so quietly and respectfully, but I was surprised that the instructor didn't stay in the room for at least 2 minutes to make sure everyone got in at least that amount of time. Is this normal? I realize it should be up to each individual how long they want to stay, but isn't this one of THE most important parts of the practice?

Appreciate any feedback. I LOVE this forum.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
vibes