YogiSource.com my account | view cart | customer service
 Search:    
Welcome to the new Yoga.com Forums home!
For future visits, link to "http://www.YogiSource.com/forums".
Make a new bookmark.
Tell your friends so they can find us and you!

Coming soon ... exciting new changes for our website, now at YogiSource.com.

Search | Statistics | User Listing View All Forums
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Help me Love Bikram!!
Moderators: Moderators

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Yoga -> Bikram YogaMessage format

Wildflower
Posted 2010-11-23 2:22 PM (#126206)
Subject: Help me Love Bikram!!

New User

Hi everyone,

I've had a regular practice of iyengar yoga for 3 years now, with general hatha yoga for a few years before that.

There is a bikram studio near my home that offers classes all day long, so I find it convenient to go there as I can always make a class.

I'm a new student to bikram and have some questions. I have a hard time going to classes as the teachers are so harsh. Now...coming from iyengar yoga I am used to hard yoga where the teachers do not allow for excuses. But some of the bikram things I don't get.

maybe you can help me understand?

1) we are not allowed to drink water in class unless it is an "emergency" and when people take sips the teacher barks at them asking them to stop and then says "well, you know, if it's an emergency then go ahead, but I doubt it is"

2) the same thing happens with wiping sweat from the face. I understand that you need to sweat on your body to cool you off, but when it is in my eyes it stings and the other day I was inhaling it into my nose while breathing which was gross and unpleasant. But yet we get called out an "scolded" for touching our faces.

3) Just the general yelling mentality of the practice. I don't understand the use of the microphone and that they scream at us for being weak like a drill sergeant.